Author Topic: Photographing Knives  (Read 10523 times)

Offline Zeus

• Administrator
  • Whetstone +
  • Forging Knives on Olympus
Photographing Knives
« on: February 01, 2012, 09:21:46 PM »
So this thread will be a work in progress as I add to it over time. The goal is to show some techniques for taking pictures of knives to make them look as nice as they can. The best part is than even simple point and shoot cameras are capable of producing really great pictures. I am by no means a professional photographer. There are a lot more talented photographers out there than me. But I have learned a few tricks for taking decent knife pictures and I will share them with you as soon as I can get some time to go take a bunch of pictures.

For starters, as I said before, most modern digital pocket "point-and-shoot" cameras are capable of taking some great pictures so if you already have a camera you can try these tricks.

Here are a few cameras that are all capable of decent knife pictures. you don't need a fancy digital SLR camera with interchangeable lenses. the camera I used for these pictures is similar, a little Canon A495 Power Shot. It's not pictured (obviously) because I used it to take the picture! :D

1) Take pictures outdoors in the shade.