Author Topic: Is there any appetite for short stories or other forms of writing?  (Read 64 times)

Offline OffGrid9

• Supporting Member
  • Mill File+
  • Too soon old, too late smart
Back in college I majored in creative writing (poetry) before I realized I wasn't going to make a living at it, and anyway, I found out I wasn't really a TRUE WRITER.  A true writer can't stop writing any more than I can stop breathing.  And it doesn't really matter if the writing is good or bad, it's just something that has to come out.  About the time I left the Navy and my second son was born, I had this epiphany -- you know, that moment in the movie when French horns make that distant, hollow sound, and haloed angels drift around the room singing Hosannas -- I had a family I couldn't support driving a cab and writing poetry.  I couldn't afford to buy cigarettes and shoes for the kids.  So I quit two things:  smoking and writing.  I took a Civil Service exam, did well, and went to work for the Air Force as an analyst-trainee.  I got good at it, kept getting promotions, and then Boeing made me an offer I couldn't refuse.  The rest, as they say, is history.

Then the kids were grown, I was pulling down a good salary, and I had spare time.  So a few years back I thought I'd try my hand at writing again.  I started out to write a short non-fiction piece about my hunting dog, Sophie.  Yeah, right.  If you've noticed anything about my posts, it's that I seldom write ANYthing short.  That story grew, and grew, and over the next ten years it became...well, it was like one of those old Chia Pets, if somebody added Miracle-Gro -- started off as a bust of a man with short green hair, which became an Afro, which turned into a mass of green mulch totally covering the head, flowing across the table and hanging over the edge.  ?Get the flame-thrower, Maggie, it's almost reached the floor!?