Author Topic: PROS & CONS OF BIOTECH & GENETICALLY MODIFIED ORGANISMS  (Read 28871 times)

Offline wolfy

• Supporting Member
  • Belt Grinder
  • "You want a toe? I can get you a toe." -Sobchak
PROS & CONS OF BIOTECH & GENETICALLY MODIFIED ORGANISMS
« on: May 14, 2015, 10:02:18 AM »
This subject has 'cropped up' 8) several times in different threads lately.  Since most of it is food related, I thought it might be a subject that warrants discussion among the members of the forum.  What prompted me to bring it to light was this article from today's issue of the OMAHA WORLD HERALD.....and the fact that I have been a farmer all of my life and have wrestled with the issues surrounding their use myself.  I look forward to a civil discussion. O:-)

http://www.omaha.com/money/with-new-m-nebraska-facility-and-unl-s-input-bayer/article_dd5185ed-267a-5811-b3f2-db279c10e7e6.html?mode=jqm
The only chance you got at a education is listenin' to me talk!
Augustus McCrae.....Texas Ranger      Lonesome Dove, TX

Offline upthecreek

• Charred Cloth Challenge
  • Global Moderator
  • Diamond Stone
  • Friction Fire Fellowship & River Rat
    • my youtube
Re: PROS & CONS OF BIOTECH & GENETICALLY MODIFIED ORGANISMS
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2015, 10:21:33 AM »
Folks don't seem to mind science making them live longer and healthier. I figure science can probably help our food too. As a kid when we were in the cow business my father enjoyed the benefits of modern science practices. I know there are many facets to the principles for agricultural applications, and many opinions too. I also remember the opinion of my grandmother quite well... "you don't fool with Mother Nature". Should be an interesting discussion.

Creek
Axes Rock!

Offline madmax

• Diamond Stone
  • The Phoenix
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2015, 10:38:18 AM »