Author Topic: 1995 Chevrolet Silverado Z-71 project thread  (Read 4053 times)

Offline OutdoorEnvy

• Water Stone
  • Outdoor Junky Approved
    • OutdoorEnvy
1995 Chevrolet Silverado Z-71 project thread
« on: May 19, 2016, 12:29:23 PM »
A little while back I posted about getting a 1995 Chevrolet k1500 and thought it would be fun to post some updates as I go through it.  All work I've done myself as that was the intent on the older vehicle is that I could do darn near all labor and everything myself.  I thought this could be a fun discussion thread.  I am not a mechanic.  Only a fearless "do-it-yourselfer"  LOL!  I do have a close friend that is my knowledge expert to some degree.  Though he would not call himself one.  haha.  Anyways, on to the work and specs:

Engine - 350(5.7L) TBI   miles = 147k
Automatic Transmission - 4L60e
4WD - manual lever transfer

Here is the list of what I've done so far over about 4 months:

Oil/Filter change
Replaced Spark Plugs, SP Wires, Distributor Cap, Rotor
Coolant Flush
New Air Filter
New Rancho Shocks installed
New Fuel filter
New Fuel Pump
New Ignition Control Module
New Blower Motor
New Battery
Cleaned EGR valve
New Fuel Pump Relay
New Oil Pressure Switch/Sensor
New PCV Valve and hose
Set Timing on Distributor
New IAC Valve and Connector
New Alternator
Cleaned Grounds
New Engine Coolant Temp Sensor

Here's some pics.  Will post more from now on.

The alternator looked so dang good it was picture worthy

Getting dirty for fun

Still more projects on this but it runs good.  Just need to gradually work my way through it as any 20 year plus vehicle would need.

« Last Edit: May 19, 2016, 03:59:07 PM by OutdoorEnvy »
Proverbs 27:17    "As iron sharpens iron, a friend sharpens a friend"
http://outdoorenvy.blogspot.com/

Offline PetrifiedWood

• Friction Fire Fellowship
  • Administrator
  • Belt Grinder
Re: 1995 Chevrolet Silverado Z-71 project thread
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2016, 12:49:19 PM »
Congrats! Looks like a fun truck.