Author Topic: OBM Grinder  (Read 2969 times)

Offline Sarge

• Supporting Member
  • Water Stone
OBM Grinder
« on: November 05, 2016, 11:49:03 AM »
Here is a sneak peak of what arrived yesterday...

I've been using a Craftsman 2x42" grinder for about two years and it has been great! Can't beat it for $169 IMHO but I considered it a stepping stone when I bought it. I've been looking for a 7x72 for a while - read endless reviews, critiques, etc. I know a guy that has had one of these for a while and was able to get first hand info from him. That tipped the scales in favor of this one and I finally pulled the trigger.

It's an Oregon Blade Maker chassis with a flat platen assembly. Base price for this one is $495 but I added a drive wheel and tool rest. A 3/4 HP VFD motor is available from OBM for $545 but I ordered a 1.5 HP from a different source.

Don't have the motor yet ... don't even have a belt ...

I'll post my progress here on the set-up, etc. for those interested.
"The man with the knapsack is never lost." Horace Kephart

Offline wsdstan

• Supporting Member
  • Diamond Stone
Re: OBM Grinder
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2016, 01:06:34 PM »
Nice color
A man who carries a cat by the tail learns  something he can learn in no other way. 
(Mark Twain)

Offline Sarge

• Supporting Member
  • Water Stone
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2016, 02:51:15 PM »

Offline crashdive123

• Vendor
  • Water Stone
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2016, 06:53:17 PM »
Excellent.  I'm not familiar with that particular grinder, but you will like using a 2 X 72.

Offline 1066vik

• Whetstone +
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2016, 08:05:11 PM »
never heard of them - but that's a nice price!
thanks for the tip!

Offline PetrifiedWood

• Friction Fire Fellowship
  • Administrator
  • Belt Grinder
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2016, 09:52:25 PM »
Looks bombproof! Congrats!

Offline Dano

• Water Stone
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2016, 09:26:07 AM »