Author Topic: Cheap Mans Fallers belt kit  (Read 1727 times)

Offline OutdoorEnvy

• Water Stone
  • Outdoor Junky Approved
    • OutdoorEnvy
Cheap Mans Fallers belt kit
« on: February 01, 2017, 06:43:40 AM »
So I wanted to keep my tools handy on me when I'm doing tree work but I didn't want to drop $40-50 to get a wedge pouch and a quick access axe scabbard.  If I was a pro then sure.  But I'm not.  So I set out to see what would make do and came up with the following.  All these items I already had on hand so it cost me nothing to put together.  Most of this stuff you probably have as well, and if not these items are cheap and readily available in any area I would think.

Wedge pouch -   I was looking for something that could work and then thought a wedge and an AR mag are pretty close in size.  And it was close enough.  This is a single mag pouch and I can fit two 8 in. wedges inside it.  It's snug but works fine and they are securely in there.  I did have to retie the bungee cord to be single lined to extend it enough to reach over the wedges. The molle webbing worked great to hold your scrench.  You could hang a fallers tape from it was well and probably carry a file too.

Next up I wanted one of those quick access axe scabbards that holds your axe upright on your backside.  They looked handy so started looking for something I could make one out of.  I didn't have a leather piece big enough for one and I didn't know if leather would be rigid enough to hold the shape well to keep the axe where you want it.  So started looking for something plastic that would be hard enough to hold a shape and strong enough the axe wouldn't easily pierce it. Then I saw one of my empty 5qt oil jugs.  And here we go...

Looks like it will be a tight squeeze on my Council pack axe.  I'm hoping to get it to fit as this axe is a great fallers buddy.