Author Topic: A few questions from a guy new to knives  (Read 2388 times)

Offline eejbm

• Mousepad and Sandpaper
A few questions from a guy new to knives
« on: November 14, 2012, 12:14:27 AM »
Hi
I am very new to knives and survival. I am 36 years old and sorta always been into camping and the outdoors and stuff but am only now taking it seriously.

I have been lurking around the place for a while, but would like to ask a couple of questions to you guys.

Firstly: can any of you recommend  a comprehensive and simple 'how to' which covers care for a knife edge? At the stage where I currently am I need to know how to do this well, and I need to learn from the bottom up. In simple, unjargonistic language.

Second: I am putting together a Go Bag for emergencies, should they arise. I want to put (at least) two edged tools in it. Their purpose would be hunting and survival (to put it generally) and would have to be quite robust (should a 72 hour emergency extend indefinitely). Through the research I have done I am currently looking at a Ka-Bar BK2 as my primary knife and some sort of Mora Knife as my secondary.
Is there anything that you guys would recommend I look at, specifically?
(I also have an entrenching tool,  tomahawk, hand chain saw  and EOD breacher bar on my list, as well as various Leatherman tools as part of my EDC)

Sent from mobile device.

Offline kanukkarhu

• Diamond Stone
  • Canadian Woods Loafer & Certified Nobody
Re: A few questions from a guy new to knives
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2012, 07:00:11 AM »
Hey, glad to see you posting!

I'd first like to say prepare yourself for lots of opinions and methods. I do believe that on this forum you will find a general agreement or consensus on many things... but knife recommendations are so personal and subjective.