Author Topic: More on Char Cloth  (Read 3861 times)

Offline Moe M.

• Diamond Stone
More on Char Cloth
« on: February 11, 2012, 10:03:57 AM »

I've found that better than old tee shirts or denim cotton 100% cotton rope makes a fine Char medium,  it seems to collect less moisture and it catches sparks much faster than chared cloth strips.
  I have an old hammock strung with 100% cotton rope that I have been using for a couple of years to make my Char "cloth" with and it's the best for catching sparks.

In youth we learn,   with age we understand.

Offline MATT CHAOS

• Friction Fire Fellowship
  • Water Stone
  • M.E.S.H. Knives
Re: More on Char Cloth
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2012, 10:27:35 AM »
No kidding, I will, definitly, try some cotton rope.  Thanks!
Jontok Bushy Approved    Member#28   
1st Aid/CPR/AED Wilderness 1st Aid Instructor

Offline Nelson

• Whetstone +
  • aka Bill510c
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2012, 11:05:36 AM »
Hmm, have to give that a try myself. I have just used old 100% cotton undershirts. Always have worked but I am always up to trying something new.
Honesty is the first chapter in the book of wisdom.
Thomas Jefferson

Offline C3 Knives

• Water Stone
  • No moment in time is -Ordinary-!
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2012, 11:07:00 AM »
I heard if ya use hemp ya better stay away from the smoke..  :-\    They call it Whaky Tabacky char cloth.   JK
C3 Knives-Hand Crafted For High Performance!

Offline Dano

• Diamond Stone
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2012, 02:58:32 PM »
It does work great, just be careful with the rope.  Even "100%" cotton clothes line has a nylon core that has to be removed first, but yes it does work great.

Offline PetrifiedWood

• Administrator
  • Belt Grinder
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2012, 03:02:33 PM »
I've soaked denim charcloth in water for a few minutes, then blotted it with a towel and let it air dry and it still worked. I think it's ok for the stuff to get wet so long as it's dry when you try to use it.