Author Topic: Stabilizing bone or antler horn??????  (Read 2952 times)

Offline MATT CHAOS

• Friction Fire Fellowship
  • Supporting Member
  • Water Stone
  • Friction Fire Fellowship M.E.S.H. Knives
Stabilizing bone or antler horn??????
« on: May 02, 2012, 06:51:16 PM »
How important (or not) is it to stabilize antler horn and bone when using those for knife handles?  I am wondering if it is needed or not.  Anyone have some information or opinions on this?

I posted this in WW's post: The dyed wood you guys use. But no one answered.  :shrug:
Here is the original thread for reference: http://bladesandbushcraft.com/index.php/topic,1056.msg20838.html#msg20838
Jontok Bushy Approved    Member#28   
1st Aid/CPR/AED Wilderness 1st Aid Instructor

Offline GrowlingBear

• Whetstone +
Re: Stabilizing bone or antler horn??????
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2012, 07:54:43 PM »
I wish I had a real answer for you Matt, but I have limited experience with it.  From what I figure, it's been used for tools and handles for thousands of years, so it must be a suitable material as is.  You can probably give it a wipe-down with tung oil finish every once-in-a-while to protect it a bit.  I've heard of people using BLO on antler, but I think it would discolor it too much for my tastes.  That's why I think tung would be preferable.
Is there such a thing as too many knives?

Offline Half Axe

• Whetstone +
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2012, 09:01:25 PM »