Author Topic: Meat and Sausage Grinding 2020  (Read 934 times)

Offline Yellowyak

• Water Stone
Meat and Sausage Grinding 2020
« on: January 04, 2020, 03:42:42 PM »
My son got us a meat grinder with a sausage stuffing attachment for our Kitchenaid mixer for Christmas. I've never ground meat, much less stuffed sausage before. As a total beginner, I purchased a book called "Homemade Sausage: Recipes and Techniques to Grind, Stuff, and Twist Artisanal Sausage at Home" at Amazon (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1631590731/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1).

Today I purchased an 8.5 lb. pork shoulder and some boneless, skinless chicken thighs to process. We didn't get around to grinding the chicken, but we did grind and make some spicy Italian sausage and some Bratwurst, using recipes from the above book. We used hog casings for the Italian sausages and bratwurst and will use sheep casings for hot dogs and chicken sausages. The sausages are resting in the refrigerator for now, but were going to cook some of the Bratwurst tonight, boiling in beer and then sauteing in a pan. Looking forward to it.

It was a fun process, especially making them with my son, who was totally into the process.

Looking forward to making 2020 the year of meat processing, especially smoking and grilling. Tomorrow, chicken sausage and breakfast sausage with extra sage.

Bratwurst before twisting into links:

Edit to add: If anyone has any go-to recipes they'd like to share, I'm all ears.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2020, 03:59:01 PM by Yellowyak »

Offline Spyder1958

• Water Stone
  • Kracaneuner Tribe
Re: Meat and Sausage Grinding 2020
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2020, 06:22:12 PM »
awesome Greg, I bet it will taste great. theres so many different seasonings out there to try. I haven't settled on just one. I did like the deer and pork Brats cindie and I made a few weeks ago. We put beer, cheddar, and jalapenos in ours. The Jalapenos were to green, taste like green bell peppers