Author Topic: ESEE 4, S35VN  (Read 216 times)

Offline Mannlicher

• Water Stone
  • A Florida Cracker, and an original Kracaneuner
ESEE 4, S35VN
« on: January 02, 2021, 01:33:25 PM »
I pre ordered this knife from Knife Works, and it showed up today. This is a knife I have wanted for ages. Rowan, the outfit that makes the ESEE brand knives does S35VN as good as any in the knife business.
Sharp as a scalpel, and has a very comfortable G10 handle. It even fits my hand. I could not be more pleased.

Offline madmaxine

• Whetstone +
Re: ESEE 4, S35VN
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2021, 03:37:51 PM »
I look and handle ESEE's every summer at SMKWs.  But I have never pulled the trigger.  It keeps growing on me.  Perhaps this summer...

Offline wsdstan

• Supporting Member
  • Belt Grinder
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2021, 04:00:31 PM »
Sam are you going to get one of the S35 VN knives that Tim Olt is working on?

I have no experience using ESEE knives although some of them are quite appealing.  I did have an Izula and one other (a very large knife but I forget the designation) and never used either of them before selling them.  Of course it was not in this steel.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns  something he can learn in no other way. 
(Mark Twain)

Offline Sarge

• Water Stone
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2021, 06:53:14 PM »
Very cool!!  8)
"The man with the knapsack is never lost." Horace Kephart (1862-1931)

Offline Mannlicher

• Water Stone
  • A Florida Cracker, and an original Kracaneuner
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2021, 06:24:13 AM »
stan,  I am indeed getting one of Tim's S35VN knives.  It  will be a larger version of one that he and I designed years ago.   He is also sending me the O1  camp hatchet and knife set he talked about in a December thread.  I am to do the field testing for the set.  Looking forward to that.

Offline wsdstan

• Supporting Member
  • Belt Grinder
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2021, 11:33:36 AM »
Thanks Sam, you will be smiling I bet.