Author Topic: My first hunt  (Read 2537 times)

Offline Angerland

• Whetstone +
  • North Woodsman
    • North Woodsman
My first hunt
« on: October 05, 2012, 10:08:48 AM »
Hey all, Talked to my Uncle last night (well, step Uncle) and we are set for hunting. Not usually a big deal excep this is my first time hunting ever. He has 2 stands set up for each of us on private land, and he gets deer every year out of them so my chances are good.  I'm not looking for trophies, just filling the freezer, at least that is the plan.

We can hunt rifles in his part of the state (the other part is shotgun).

anyway, long story short I keep staring at the calander, November 3rd can't come fast enough!
"We do not go to the green woods and crystal waters to rough it, we go to smooth it. We get it rough enough at home."

Offline Highlife

• Water Stone
  • Sometimes more is more.
Re: My first hunt
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2012, 10:17:50 AM »
Have a great time and be safe! I'm sure you'll have a wonderful learning experience with your uncle.
What's that smell?

Offline WoodsWoman

• Diamond Stone
  • Minnesota
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2012, 11:27:59 AM »
Congrats!  :)     

Get your clothing outside to hang...get as much 'human' smell off it.  :)     Dont wear anything perfumey out there... this includes conditioner for your hair , deoderant, mouthwash and after shave .    :)     If they are new clothes.. wash them in vinegar to get the new store smell off them and then hang outside in the sun.  NO dryer sheets either. 

If you need snacks while out there.. peanutbutter and apples.    Those smells will bring deer in to check whats smellin so good.   Umm...bears too.  heh.

Dont forget sunglasses. Warm socks, and a butt pillow.  :)

If your a smoker, dont smoke on or near your stand.  Nor on the trail if you see one.  One hunter I know will go smoke where he didnt want a deer to come through... just to force the animal to pass his stand.